Progressive Web Apps (PWA): For which projects?

by | 7 Apr 2021 | Web Expertise

Progressive Web Apps (PWAs) were popular a few years ago. Supported by Google, this technology allows the creation of mobile services with features comparable to native applications, but accessible from a simple browser. 

Where are we today? What can PWAs really do? For which type of project is the choice of a PWA relevant?

Which technologies to develop a mobile project?

Today, to create a service accessible from mobile devices, you have a plethora of possibilities. Development costs and possibilities vary depending on the solution you choose: we offer a quick summary of the different technologies to start : responsive website, native or hybrid mobile application, and of course, this is the subject of this article, progressive web app (PWA).

- Responsive website

You can create a responsive website, that is to say, one that adapts to all screen sizes; today, there is even a tendency to think of sites primarily for mobile terminals (mobile first), since mobiles account for about 55% of global web traffic.

- Mobile application

A traditional responsive website is great for offering content that can be easily consulted in a mobile situation, but it offers far fewer possibilities than a mobile application. 

A mobile app is accessible at any time on the user's terminal, it can send push notifications, access the bluetooth, the camera, all the features of the phone or tablet. 

There are many good reasons to develop a mobile application, and several technical solutions:

  • Native mobile application: a different application will be developed for each type of device, using the manufacturer's specific language: an application for Android devices, an application for iOS (Apple)... This is the most time-consuming solution, but also the most personalized, which will make the most of the possibilities of each device and offer the best user experience.
  • Hybrid mobile application: we'll write the code once, and generate an application per type of terminal. This is possible using a framework like React Native, for example. It's faster and less expensive than a native application, but you have less possibilities than with native and you are dependent on a framework. 

A mobile application, whether developed natively or as a hybrid, also has its drawbacks. It is completely disconnected from the brand's main website, and must be downloaded via a store to be usable.

In e-commerce or social networks, for example, this is a weakness because it causes a break in the customer experience: the user clicks on a link or stumbles onto a website from his mobile browser, but has to install an application to access the content he is looking for. 

With this in mind, and in order to offer an answer to the mobile conversion problems encountered by publishers, Google has developed Progressive Web Apps.

What is a Progressive Web App?

A PWA offers a similar experience to a native mobile application, but it is a website, viewable from a simple browser. It is therefore also accessible from the desktop.

It was a Google engineer who defined the principle of PWAs in 2015, and since then, Google has strongly encouraged the adoption of this technology.

The PWA documentation released by Google defines the 3 pillars of PWAs:

  • A PWA is "capable": it takes advantage of the latest possibilities offered by APIs to offer features that were previously reserved for native applications: access to device files, notifications, camera...
  • A PWA is reliable: it is fast, regardless of the quality of the user's internet connection. It is also accessible offline. This is a particularly crucial issue in countries where the majority of the population is "mobile" and where Internet connections are not very efficient.
  • A PWA is installable: instead of opening in a browser tab, it can open in an independent window. It can be accessed from a shortcut added to the device's homepage, like a native application, but also from the "Start" menu of a PC.

"By the way, Google offers the Lighthouse tool, which allows you to audit your PWA to see if it meets the expected performance standards.

Thus, PWAs offer "the best of both worlds", between the website and the mobile or desktop application.

How does it work? To put it simply, a PWA is built from two bricks:

  • The Manifesto: a file that describes the data of the application: icon, name of the application...
  • The Service Worker: an asynchronous javascript process, which runs on the client side even when the application is not running. It uses a cache to store resources, and sends them to the browser to respond to requests sent by the client.

PWAs are therefore web applications that use standard web technologies (HTML5, CSS, Javascript), that run in a browser, but that can be installed, open in their own window and run offline.

Thus, a PWA is similar to a native mobile application, but with some differences:

  • PWAs can be installed from Google Play, the Android store, like any native mobile application, but not from the Apple App Store.
  • PWAs have access to some of the features of mobile devices (notifications, GPS, video and microphone sensors...) but with limitations: for example, they can't always access Bluetooth, or other native features (geofencing, Google Fit or Apple Health integration...). Here again, it's on Apple devices that the problem lies, because the last time I checked, it wasn't possible for a PWA to generate push notifications on iOS.
  • Unlike native applications, PWAs will not be able to take advantage of 100% of the computing power of the device and will therefore not be able to perform complex tasks (3D rendering, fluid graphic animations...). This limits the applications of PWAs in the field of video games for example.

Generally speaking, PWAs are much more interesting in an Android environment than on iOS. Let's not forget that it's Google who designed and popularized PWAs. Apple equips a quarter of the French population, and 14% of the smartphone owners in the world, so it's an important point.

Feedback: the benefits of PWAs

Google communicates on its website about use cases where the development of a PWA has allowed a brand to notice significant gains. These examples are interesting to understand concretely the advantages of PWA:

  • Twitter has developed Twitter Lite, a progressive web app that can replace the Twitter mobile application if desired. Twitter Lite has been deployed in some 40 countries, notably in Africa and India. Results: the number of pages per session has increased by 65%, the number of tweets sent by 75%, and the bounce rate has decreased by 20%.
  • AliExpress increased the conversion rate for new users by 104%, doubled the number of page views per session, and the time spent per session increased by 74%.
  • Trivago has increased the click-through rate of its hotel offers by 97%,
  • OLX, which runs classified ad marketplaces in many countries (India, Brazil, Indonesia, South Africa...) increased the click-through rate on their ads by 146%. Using push notifications, they saw a 250% re-engagement of users.
  • Treebo has increased its conversion rate by 4 times.
  • Alibaba saw its conversions increase by 76%.
  • Housing.com, an Indian competitor of AirBnb, saw its conversions increase by 38% and its bounce rate decrease by 40%.

What can we learn from these impressive figures?

When you're a famous brand that naturally generates a lot of mobile traffic, it can be interesting to offer users to install a PWA rather than a mobile application .

A PWA is immediately added to the user's homepage, thus avoiding the friction caused by going to the store and downloading the app. This is especially true when users are reluctant to multiply the number of mobile applications installed on their smartphone, due to lack of storage space; it is also valid when the internet connection is not great.

As a result, these brands lose fewer users along the way, thus increasing their mobile conversion rate, and can re-engage these customers via notifications, which would not be possible with a traditional mobile website.

Progressive Web Apps: advantages and disadvantages

Now that we have done an overview of Progressive Web Apps and their possibilities, let's try to summarize their assets...and their limitations.

- The benefits of PWA

  • Development and maintenance costs are limited compared to native and hybrid applications: a single code for all devices, deployment and updates in real time without going through the validation of the stores;
  • The experience is more fluid for the user, who can immediately add the application to his home page without going through the store (especially true on Android);
  • PWAs allow users to re-engage via push notifications, just like a native mobile app (true only on Android) ;
  • Compared to native applications and mobile websites, PWAs are lighter, less resource and bandwidth intensive: they are fast and efficient. From this point of view, we can even say that developing a PWA is an ecological choice.
  • PWAs can work offline, both on the desktop and on mobile, which opens up many use cases.
  • Unlike a mobile application, which is only distributed on the stores, a PWA takes advantage of all the usual acquisition channels in the web, especially search engine optimization (SEO).
  • There's a lot of talk about mobile, but a PWA is also accessible on desktop. Microsoft is betting heavily on PWAs in Windows 10, and plans to gradually replace many classic apps (including Microsoft Teams) with PWAs.

- The disadvantages of PWAs

  • As we saw, Apple is not a big fan of PWAs. As long as the possibilities of PWAs on iOS (downloadable from the App Store, notification management, easy addition to the homepage...) are not the same as on Android, PWAs cannot be considered a credible alternative to native applications.
  • Access to hardware and operating system features remains limited, even on Android.
  • Doing without the stores can be an advantage for developers and users alike; but for brands, it means depriving themselves of an important visibility channel.
  • Technically, PWAs are still dependent on browsers. This requires significant testing, and is a source of bugs that should not be overlooked.

What future for PWAs?

A few years ago, PWAs were touted as the next revolution.

Where are we today?

It is clear that the enthusiasm for this technology has not lived up to its promise .

Apple's reluctance is a big part of it. But other signals suggest that enthusiasm is waning: Mozilla, for example, recently announced that it would end support for PWAs on Firefox.

From our point of view, the future of PWAs seems to be limited to certain specific use cases.

Is a PWA suitable for my project?

A PWA is a mobile website on steroids, but it opens up few new possibilities.

A PWA can't replace a classic mobile application: if you have a project that targets the general public, and you don't have a big reputation yet, you won't be able to do without the stores.

By the way, when we look for examples of PWA in France today, we often think of the newspaper L'Équipe, one of the first French sites to launch a PWA in 2017.

But let's not forget that :

  • The Team has a strong reputation and an ability to generate significant traffic;
  • The Team offers this PWA as a complement to the mobile applications deployed on the stores, not as a replacement for them!

Here are the use cases for which the choice of a PWA seems to us the most interesting:

  • You already have a public website, with a high mobile traffic (media or merchant site). Many users only visit it occasionally, and are therefore not inclined to install a mobile application. Offering them a PWA is a good way to increase their loyalty, improve their experience and increase the conversion rate.
  • You need your users to be able to access your website or web application offline. A good example is business tools (intranet, CRM, data entry tool...). The users of a company move on the field, and need to enter data even without connection, and synchronize them later with the central site. In this case, a PWA is a very good alternative to the mobile application, less expensive and just as effective.

In the case of a project launch, if you don't have a website yet, launching the development of a PWA can be a relevant choice, but here again, only if you need your users to access your service offline: for a simple showcase site, no need for a PWA!

Finally, we don't recommend considering the PWA as an MVP, as a V1 of your product, to then develop native applications when you have more budget. Indeed, this would require rewriting everything from scratch.


In addition, don't miss our list of technologies with a promising future that have been widely acclaimed by our developers. To download our Tech Trends 2021 guide, click here.

Simon Galet

Simon Galet

Architect developer @theTribe

Why don't we talk?

Les Progressive Web Apps (PWA) : Pour quels projets ?

par | 7 Avr 2021 | Expertise Web

Les Progressive Web Apps (PWA) ont eu la cote il y a quelques années. Soutenue par Google, cette technologie permet de créer des services mobiles aux fonctionnalités comparables aux applications natives, mais accessibles depuis un simple navigateur. 

Où en est-on aujourd’hui ? Qu’est-ce que les PWA permettent réellement de faire ? Pour quel type de projet le choix d’une PWA est-il pertinent ?

Quelles technos pour développer un projet mobile ?

Aujourd’hui, pour créer un service accessible depuis les terminaux mobiles, vous avez pléthore de possibilités. Les coûts de développement et les possibilités varient en fonction de la solution choisie : on vous propose un petit récap rapide des différentes technos pour commencer : site web responsive, application mobile native ou hybride, et bien sûr, c’est le sujet de cet article, progressive web app (PWA).

— Site web responsive

Vous pouvez créer un site web responsive, c’est à dire qui s’adapte à toutes les tailles d’écran ; aujourd’hui, on a même tendance à penser les sites en premier lieu pour les terminaux mobiles (mobile first), puisque les mobiles concernent environ 55 % du trafic web mondial.

— Application mobile

Un site web responsive traditionnel, c’est très bien pour offrir du contenu consultable facilement en situation de mobilité, mais cela offre beaucoup moins de possibilités qu’une application mobile. 

Une appli mobile est accessible à tout moment sur le terminal de l’utilisateur, elle peut lui envoyer des notifications push, accéder au bluetooth, à la caméra, à toutes les fonctionnalités du téléphone ou de la tablette. 

Il existe plein de bonnes raisons pour vouloir développer une application mobile, et plusieurs solutions techniques :

  • Application mobile native : on va développer une application différente pour chaque type de terminal, en utilisant le langage spécifique du constructeur : une application pour les terminaux Android, une application pour iOS (Apple)… C’est la solution la plus coûteuse en temps mais aussi la plus personnalisée, qui tirera parti au maximum des possibilités de chaque device et offrira la meilleure expérience utilisateur.
  • Application mobile hybride : on va écrire le code une seule fois, et générer une application par type de terminal. C’est possible en utilisant un framework comme React Native, par exemple. C’est plus rapide et moins coûteux qu’une application native, mais on a moins de possibilités qu’avec le natif et on est dépendant d’un framework. 

Une application mobile, qu’elle soit développée en natif ou en hybride, a aussi des inconvénients. Elle est complètement déconnectée du site web principal de la marque, et doit être téléchargée via un store pour être utilisable. 

Dans le domaine du e-commerce ou des réseaux sociaux, par exemple, c’est une faiblesse car cela occasionne une rupture dans l’expérience client : l’utilisateur clique sur un lien ou tombe sur un site web par hasard depuis son navigateur mobile, mais doit installer une application pour accéder au contenu recherché. 

C’est en partant de ce constat, et pour offrir une réponse aux problématiques de conversion mobile rencontrées par les éditeurs, que Google a mis au point les Progressive Web Apps.

Une Progressive Web App, c’est quoi ?

Une PWA offre une expérience similaire à une application mobile native, mais c’est un site web, consultable depuis un simple navigateur. Elle est donc également accessible depuis desktop.

C’est un ingénieur de Google qui a défini le principe des PWA en 2015, et depuis lors, Google a fortement encouragé l’adoption de cette technologie.

La documentation des PWA diffusée par Google définit les 3 piliers des PWA :

  • Une PWA est “capable” : elle tire parti des dernières possibilités offertes par les API pour offrir des fonctionnalités qui auparavant étaient réservées aux applications natives : accès aux fichiers du device, aux notifications, à la caméra…
  • Une PWA est fiable : elle est rapide, quelle que soit la qualité de la connexion internet de l’utilisateur. Elle est également accessible hors connexion. C’est un enjeu particulièrement crucial dans les pays où la population est majoritairement “mobinaute” et où les connexions internet sont peu performantes.
  • Une PWA est installable : au lieu de s’ouvrir dans un onglet du navigateur, elle peut s’ouvrir dans une fenêtre indépendante. On peut y accéder depuis un raccourci ajouté à l’accueil du device, comme une application native, mais aussi depuis le menu “Démarrer” d’un PC.

D”ailleurs, Google propose l’outil Lighthouse, qui permet d’auditer votre PWA pour savoir si elle est conforme aux standards de performances attendus.

Ainsi, les PWA offrent “le meilleur des deux mondes”, entre le site web et l’application mobile ou desktop.

Comment ça marche ? Pour schématiser, une PWA est construite à partir de deux briques :

  • Le Manifeste : un fichier qui décrit les données de l’application : icône, nom de l’application…
  • Le Service Worker : un processus javascript asynchrone, qui tourne côté client même quand l’application n’est pas lancée. Il utilise un cache pour stocker des ressources, et les envoie au navigateur pour répondre aux requêtes envoyées par le client.

Les PWA sont donc des applications web qui utilisent les technologies web standard (HTML5, CSS, Javascript), qui s’exécutent dans un navigateur, mais qui peuvent être installées, s’ouvrir dans une fenêtre propre et fonctionner hors connexion.

Ainsi, une PWA se rapproche d’une application mobile native, avec toutefois quelques différences :

  • Les PWA peuvent être installées depuis Google Play, le store Android, comme n’importe quelle application mobile native, mais pas depuis l’App Store d’Apple.
  • Les PWA ont accès à certaines fonctionnalités des devices mobiles (notifications, GPS, capteurs vidéos et micro…) mais avec des limites : par exemple, elles ne peuvent pas toujours accéder au bluetooth, ou à d’autres fonctionnalités natives (geofencing, intégration Google Fit ou Apple Health…). Là encore, c’est sur les terminaux Apple que le bât blesse, car aux dernières nouvelles, il n’était pas possible pour une PWA de générer des notifications push sur iOS.
  • Contrairement aux applications natives, les PWA ne vont pas pouvoir tirer parti à 100% de la puissance de calcul du device et ne pourront donc pas réaliser de tâches complexes (rendu 3D, animations graphiques fluides…). Cela limite les applications des PWA dans le domaine du jeu vidéo par exemple.

D’une manière générale, les PWA sont beaucoup plus intéressantes dans un environnement Android que sur iOS. N’oublions pas que c’est Google qui a conçu et popularisé les PWA. Apple équipant tout de même un quart des français, et 14% des possesseurs de smartphone dans le monde, c’est un point important.

Retours d’expérience : les gains obtenus grâce aux PWA

Google communique sur son site sur des cas d’usage où le développement d’une PWA a permis à une marque de constater des gains notables. Ces exemples sont intéressants pour comprendre concrètement les atouts des PWA :

  • Twitter a développé Twitter Lite, une progressive web app qui peut remplacer si on le souhaite l’application mobile Twitter. Twitter Lite a été déployé dans une quarantaine de pays, notamment en Afrique et en Inde. Résultats : le nombre de pages par session a augmenté de 65%, le nombre de tweets envoyés de 75%, et le taux de rebond a diminué de 20%.
  • AliExpress a augmenté le taux de conversion pour les nouveaux utilisateurs de 104%, a doublé le nombre de pages vues par session, et le temps passé par session a augmenté de 74%.
  • Trivago a augmenté le taux de clics de ses offres d’hôtels de 97%,
  • OLX, qui gère des marketplaces de petites annonces dans de nombreux pays (Inde, Brésil, Indonésie, Afrique du Sud…) a augmenté le taux de clics sur ses annonces de 146%. En utilisant les notifications push, ils ont constaté un réengagement de 250% des utilisateurs.
  • Treebo a multiplié par 4 son taux de conversion.
  • Alibaba a vu ses conversions augmenter de 76%.
  • Housing.com, un concurrent indien d’AirBnb, a vu ses conversions augmenter de 38% et son taux de rebond diminuer de 40%.

Quel enseignement tirer de ces chiffres impressionnants ?

Lorsque l’on est une marque célèbre qui génère naturellement un important trafic mobile, il peut être intéressant de proposer aux utilisateurs d’installer une PWA plutôt qu’une application mobile. 

Une PWA est immédiatement ajoutée sur la page d’accueil de l’utilisateur : on évite ainsi la friction causée par le passage sur le store et le téléchargement de l’app. C’est d’autant plus vrai quand les utilisateurs hésitent à multiplier le nombre d’applications mobiles installées sur leur smartphone, faute d’espace de stockage suffisant ; c’est valable aussi quand la connexion internet n’est pas fameuse.

Résultat : ces marques perdent moins d’utilisateurs en route, augmentent donc leur taux de conversion mobile, et peuvent réengager ces clients via les notifications, ce qui ne serait pas possible avec un site web mobile classique.

Progressive Web Apps : avantages et inconvénients

Maintenant que nous avons fait un tour d’horizon Progressive Web Apps et de leurs possibilités, tentons de résumer leurs atouts…et leurs limites.

— Les avantages des PWA

  • Les coûts de développement et de maintenance sont limités par rapport aux applications natives et hybrides : un seul code pour tous les devices, déploiement et mises à jour en temps réel sans passer par la validation des stores ;
  • L’expérience est plus fluide pour l’utilisateur, qui peut immédiatement ajouter l’application à sa page d’accueil sans passer pas le store (surtout vrai sur Android) ;
  • Les PWA permettent de réengager les utilisateurs via les notifications push, comme une application mobile native (vrai uniquement sur Android) ;
  • Par rapport aux applications natives et aux sites web mobiles, les PWA sont plus légères, moins consommatrices de ressources et de bande passante : elles sont rapides et performantes. De ce point de vue, on peut même dire que développer une PWA est un choix écologique.
  • Les PWA peuvent fonctionner hors connexion, aussi bien sur desktop que sur mobile, ce qui  ouvre de nombreux cas d’usage.
  • Contrairement à une application mobile, qui n’est distribuée que sur les stores, une PWA profite de tous les canaux d’acquisition habituels dans le web, en particulier le référencement sur les moteurs de recherche (SEO).
  • On parle beaucoup du mobile, mais une PWA est également accessible sur desktop. Microsoft mise beaucoup sur les PWA dans Windows 10, et prévoit de remplacer progressivement de nombreuses applications classiques (dont Microsoft Teams) par des PWA.

— Les inconvénients des PWA

  • On l’a vu, Apple n’est pas un grand fan des PWA. Tant que les possibilités des PWA sur iOS (téléchargement possible depuis l’App Store, gestion des notifications, ajout à l’accueil facile…) ne seront pas les mêmes que sur Android, on ne pourra pas considérer les PWA comme une alternative crédible aux applications natives.
  • L’accès au hardware et aux fonctionnalités du système d’exploitation restent limitées, même sur Android.
  • Se passer des stores peut être un avantage pour les développeurs comme pour les utilisateurs ; mais pour les marques, c’est se priver d’un canal de visibilité important.
  • Techniquement, les PWA restent dépendantes des navigateurs. Cela nécessite des tests importants, et c’est une source de bug à ne pas négliger.

Quel avenir pour les PWA ?

Il y a quelques années, on présentait les PWA comme la prochaine révolution.

Où en est-on aujourd’hui ?

Force est de constater que l’engouement pour cette technologie n’est pas à la hauteur des promesses. 

La frilosité d’Apple y est pour beaucoup. Mais d’autres signaux laissent penser que l’enthousiasme est en train de retomber : Mozilla, par exemple, a récemment annoncé mettre un terme à la prise en charge des PWA sur Firefox.

De notre point de vue, l’avenir des PWA semble donc cantonné à certains cas d’usage bien précis.

Une PWA est-elle adaptée à mon projet ?

Une PWA, c’est un site web mobile sous stéroïdes, mais qui n’ouvre que peu de nouvelles possibilités.

Une PWA ne peut donc pas remplacer une application mobile classique : si vous avez un projet qui cible le grand public, et que vous n’avez pas encore une grande notoriété, vous ne pourrez pas vous passer des stores.

D’ailleurs, quand on cherche des exemples de PWA en France aujourd’hui, on pense souvent au journal L’Équipe, un des premiers sites français à lancer une PWA en 2017.

Mais n’oublions pas que :

  • L’Équipe dispose d’une forte notoriété et a une capacité à générer un trafic important ;
  • L’Équipe propose cette PWA en complément des applications mobiles déployées sur les stores, pas en remplacement de celles-ci !

Voici donc les cas d’usages pour lesquels le choix d’une PWA nous semble le plus intéressant :

  • Vous avez déjà un site web grand public, avec un trafic mobile important (média ou site marchand). De nombreux utilisateurs ne le visitent que ponctuellement, et ne sont donc pas enclins à installer une application mobile. Leur proposer une PWA est un bon moyen d’augmenter leur fidélité, d’améliorer leur expérience et d’augmenter le taux de conversion.
  • Vous avez besoin que vos utilisateurs puissent accéder hors connexion à votre site ou votre application web. Un bon exemple est celui des outils professionnels (intranet, CRM, outil de saisie de données…). Les utilisateurs d’une entreprise se déplacent sur le terrain, et ont besoin de saisir des données même sans connexion, et de les synchroniser plus tard avec le site central. Dans ce cas, une PWA est une très bonne alternative à l’application mobile, moins chère et tout aussi efficace.

Dans le cas d’un lancement de projet, si vous n’avez pas encore de site web, lancer d’emblée le développement d’une PWA peut être un choix pertinent, mais là encore, uniquement si vous avez besoin que vos utilisateurs accèdent à votre service hors connexion : pour un simple site vitrine, pas besoin d’une PWA !

Enfin, nous déconseillons de considérer la PWA comme un MVP, comme une V1 de votre produit, pour ensuite développer des applications natives quand vous aurez plus de budget. En effet, cela nécessiterait de tout réécrire en partant de zéro.


En complément, ne passez pas à côté de notre liste de technologies à l’avenir prometteur et qui ont été largement plébiscitées par nos développeurs. Pour télécharger notre guide des Tech Trends 2021, c’est par ici.

Simon Galet

Simon Galet

Architect developer @theTribe

Et si on discutait ?