Tech Trends 2021: popular front-end frameworks

by | 1 Feb 2021 | Mobile Expertise, Web Expertise

2020 has been a rich year in terms of the evolution of web technologies and their uses.

In support of the annual Stack Overflow Developer Survey, let's take a look at the technologies, frameworks, and languages developers prefer .

For 10 years now, Stack Overflow has been asking developers in its community about their affinities and expectations regarding programming tools. This year, no less than 65,000 developers answered the call. Over the last decade, the software industry has changed significantly," the authors of the study point out. The health crisis we are experiencing is accelerating change for companies. They are being forced to develop new "native cloud" tools by force of circumstance.

Location of respondents - Stack Overflow Study
Location of respondents - Stack Overflow Study

Some data from the study will be of particular interest to CTO / ISD. From the desires and preferences of developers, they will be able to identify trends and thus make more informed technological choices. With regard to this study, the observation of the volume of searches for programming languages on Google (Google Trends) as well as the volume of keywords (tags) in the questions asked on the Stack Overflow site will provide additional insight.

01. Popular Front-End Frameworks in 2020

Single-page applications or SPAs (web applications that are built on the browser side, by calling the business logic using APIs) are in the majority of newly created web applications. The result is a boom in front-end frameworks, the development of which is still in progress. Let's examine one by one the 3 most used frameworks.

Today, the 3 most popular front-end frameworks are : React, Angular (not to be confused with AngularJS its predecessor) and View.js.

All three of them embody the notion of components: front-end elements that can be reused throughout an application .

The graph below shows the evolution of the number of open topics on Stack Overflow since the creation of the platform on the 3 Frameworks React, Angular & Vue.js.

Stack Overflow: React, Angular, Vue.js
Evolution of the number of open topics on Stack Overflow

If Angular, the framework supported by Google, has experienced very strong growth between 2015 and 2018, it seems that React, created by Facebook engineers, has largely surpassed it and assumes a leading position.

Note that React is in fact a library and not a framework as such. Several elements can explain it: its simpler handling (at least at the beginning of the learning process), its lightness and its flexibility.

Here, we can clearly see that React has taken the lead ahead of Angular from 2017 and Vue.js remains a little behind:

Google Trends: React, Angular, Vue.js
Worldwide, over the last 5 years, Programming Source: Google Trends

This seems normal, because the framework is the youngest of the three and it is less corporate-ready (large companies are afraid to develop projects that do not have the support of GAFAM for fear of having to recode the project in another technology later). The stability of Vue will be a determining factor in its adoption in the large company category.

Now let's take a look at NPM, the tool used to download React, Angular and Vue :

NPM: React, Angular, Vue.js

We can see here that React is by far the most downloaded framework. We also have to keep in mind that React has been around for a long time : there are necessarily more very important projects in place (requiring thousands of daily downloads with daily deployments and containerization).

Let's move on to Github which is the largest collaborative platform for animating open source projects and where developers find information about the :

Github: React, Angular, Vue.js

If we look at the number of stars (a way for a developer to recommend a framework or a library), we can see that Vue is in the lead with 173,615 stars on GitHub, a higher score than React (159,882). This proves that Vue.js is a framework that gains to be known.

We can conclude that React is the most popular front-end technology today. Still growing, it is an excellent choice of front-end solutions to create your project in 2021.

Tech Trends 2021 Guide: languages, frameworks & libraries to follow

In the rest of this guide (40 pages), discover :

  • The rest of our analysis on React, Angular & Vue.js ;
  • Analysis of popular back-end & mobile frameworks in 2020 ;
  • 9 fact sheets on the most popular frameworks in 2020 (number of developers, recommended libraries, popularity with companies...) ;
  • A list of technologies with a promising future that have been widely acclaimed by our developers.
Florian Compain

Florian Compain

Chief Marketing Officer @theTribe

Why don't we talk?

Tech Trends 2021 : les frameworks front-end populaires

par | 1 Fév 2021 | Expertise Mobile, Expertise Web

2020 a été une année riche sur le plan de l’évolution de technos web et de leurs usages.

À l’appui de l’étude annuelle Stack Overflow Developer, dressons un panorama des technologies, frameworks et langages préférés des développeurs.

Depuis maintenant 10 ans, Stack Overflow interroge les développeurs de sa communauté sur leurs affinités et leurs attentes quant aux outils de programmation. Cette année, ce ne sont pas moins de 65 000 développeurs qui ont répondu à l’appel. Au cours de la dernière décennie, l’industrie du logiciel a sensiblement évolué, soulignent les auteurs de l’étude. La crise sanitaire que nous vivons constitue un accélérateur de changements pour les entreprises. Elles se voient ainsi inciter à développer de nouveaux outils “cloud native” par la force des choses.

Localisation des répondants - Etude Stack Overflow
Localisation des répondants – Etude Stack Overflow

Certaines données de l’étude intéresseront particulièrement les CTO / DSI. Des envies et préférences des développeurs, ils pourront dégager des tendances et ainsi faire des choix technologiques plus éclairés. En regard de cette étude, l’observation du volume de recherche des langages de programmation sur Google (Google Trends) ainsi que celle du volume de mots-clés (tags) dans les questions posées sur le site Stack Overflow apporteront une réflexion complémentaire.

01. Frameworks front-end populaires en 2020

Les single-page application ou SPA (applications web qui se construisent côté navigateur, en appelant la logique métier au moyen d’API) sont majoritaires parmi les nouvelles applications web créées. Il en résulte un essor des frameworks front-end dont on n’a pas fini de voir le développement. Examinons un à un les 3 frameworks les plus utilisés.

Aujourd’hui, les 3 frameworks front-end les plus populaires sont : React, Angular (à ne pas confondre à AngularJS son prédécesseur) et Vue.js.

Ils embarquent tous les trois la notion de composants : des éléments du front-end réutilisables à travers une application.

Le graphique ci-dessous montre l’évolution du nombre de sujets ouverts sur Stack Overflow depuis la création de la plateforme sur les 3 Frameworks React, Angular & Vue.js.

Stack Overflow : React, Angular, Vue.js
Evolution du nombre de sujets ouverts sur Stack Overflow

Si Angular, le framework soutenu par Google, a connu une très forte croissance entre 2015 et 2018, il semble que React, créé par les ingénieurs de Facebook, l’a largement dépassé et assume une position de leader.

À noter que React est en fait une bibliothèque et non un framework à proprement parler. Plusieurs éléments peuvent l’expliquer : sa prise en main plus simple (au moins au début de l’apprentissage), sa légèreté et sa flexibilité.

Ici, on observe clairement que React a pris la tête devant Angular dès 2017 et Vue.js reste un peu en retrait :

Google Trends : React, Angular, Vue.js
Monde entier, sur les 5 dernières années, Programmation Source : Google Trends

Cela semble normal, car le framework est le plus jeune des trois et il est moins corporate-ready (les grandes entreprises ont peur de développer des projets qui n’ont pas le soutien de GAFAM par peur de devoir recoder le projet dans une autre technologie plus tard). La stabilité de Vue sera déterminante pour qu’il soit adopté dans la catégorie des grandes entreprises.

Regardons maintenant du côté de NPM, l’outil utilisé pour télécharger React, Angular et Vue :

NPM : React, Angular, Vue.js

On voit ici que React est de loin le framework le plus téléchargé. Il faut également garder en tête que React est là depuis longtemps : il y a forcément plus de projets très importants en place (nécessitant des milliers de téléchargements quotidiens avec les déploiements quotidiens et la containerisation).

Passons à Github qui est la plus grande plateforme collaborative d’animation des projets open source et où les développeurs trouvent les informations sur les frameworks :

Github : React, Angular, Vue.js

Si l’on regarde le nombre de stars (manière pour un développeur de recommander un framework ou une librairie), on peut s’apercevoir que Vue est en tête avec 173 615 stars sur GitHub, un score plus élevé que React (159 882). Cela prouve que Vue.js est un framework qui gagne à être connu.

Nous pouvons conclure que React est la technologie front-end la plus populaire aujourd’hui. Toujours en croissance, il est un excellent choix de solutions front-end pour créer son projet en 2021.

Guide Tech Trends 2021 : langages, frameworks & librairies à suivre

Dans la suite de ce guide (40 pages), découvrez :

  • La suite de notre analyse sur React, Angular & Vue.js ;
  • L’analyse des frameworks back-end & mobiles populaires en 2020 ;
  • 9 fiches pratiques sur les frameworks les plus populaires en 2020 (nombre de développeurs, librairies recommandées, popularité auprès des entreprises…) ;
  • Une liste de technologies à l’avenir prometteur et qui ont été largement plébiscitées par nos développeurs.
Florian Compain

Florian Compain

Chief Marketing Officer @theTribe

Et si on discutait ?