API, nocode: which technical solution to connect two applications?

by | 23 Sep 2021 | Web Expertise

As we have seen in two previous articles(here and here), developing bridges between software or applications is often necessary to gain in reliability and automate processes. If asking the right questions upstream is an essential first step, then comes the technical question. Native integrations, nocode tools, custom connectors... Let's take a look at the solutions available to you.

Designing a connector: constraints to be taken into account

To connect applications to each other, you must first be able to communicate with them. 

This communication can be done in different ways: XML feeds, APIs, webhooks (events sent on a url), etc. 

While there are many ways to do this, at least one of these ways must exist and be able to transmit the necessary data to your connector.

If you are a software publisher, this may require you to design your platform around this need (micro-service architecture rather than monolithic, etc.), or to develop the necessary building blocks.

If you are using an online application or software, you may or may not have access to the APIs of that application, or to the integrations that already exist: depending on the tool itself (does it offer an API or integrations?), on your subscription, or even on the type of hosting you choose (on the publisher's infrastructure or on your own server).

It is fundamental to make an initial study of your environment in order to choose the right technical solution and/or implement the right actions. 

Unfortunately, this phase may result in the impossibility of realising the connector. But we must not forget that the web is a constantly evolving ecosystem: today's truth is not tomorrow's truth and the initial design will not be lost.

By looking at the technical constraints, it is also possible to discover roundabout ways of addressing the need temporarily while waiting for planned developments. This study can also highlight the inadequacy of the tool with your needs: if the connector is necessary for your activity, and the tool does not allow it, then it is not necessarily the right tool for your company.

However, we reassure you: more and more publishers have long understood that it is in their interest to open up their platform to the outside world, and new technologies and development methods simplify the task: the days when you could only communicate with software by exporting flat files during the night are long gone!

Solution 1: Market extensions

Today, with the growing demand for interconnection, many platforms offer their own marketplace of extensions (or integrations, as the case may be). Your accounting software or your CRM probably offers "standard" connectors with partner software.

The Hubspot marketplace

Screenshot: the marketplace Hubspot

Some connectors are developed and maintained by the publisher itself, others by third parties. Some companies have even specialised in developing these extensions for certain tools.

For example, Piesync, recently acquired by Hubspot, specialised in synchronising data between applications and this CRM. Agencies have also made connectors their centre of expertise. 

Rather than considering custom development, such extensions can be very relevant if they cover the identified need. Some of them have several years of existence and therefore improvements, an adapted support, and a versatility allowing to work by iterations.

From a budgetary point of view, many of these services operate on a subscription basis, with the price depending on the number of users. If the entry price is lower than a custom development, we recommend that you make the projection over several years, according to your projected growth, to choose the best solution.

However, most of these extensions require a considerable amount of time for configuration and testing, which is a consequence of their versatility: they must be adapted to your own needs.

If your CRM software offers a standard connector with your accounting software, this is good news, but beware: check that this connector covers your needs, as sometimes the functionality covered is limited! 

For example, at the time of writing this article, the connector between Hubspot CRM and Quickbooks accounting software allows invoices to be created directly in Hubspot and transmitted to Quickbooks, but it does not allow invoices created in Quickbooks to be viewed in Hubspot... which does not meet all needs.

Solution 2: "nocode" integration platforms

No-code" is on the rise: applications that do not require development in the traditional sense (writing source code, etc.) are called "no-code"Applications that do not require development in the traditional sense of the term (writing source code etc.) are called

Numerous nocode platforms now make it possible to create tools in a few days from more or less macro bricks, already coded and requiring only assembly and configuration.

For the development of a connector, there are some particularly interesting no-code tools dedicated to the integration of applications. 

Among the most commonly used are Zapier and Integromat. These tools are already connected to hundreds of applications on the market, and make it possible to create relatively complete connectors.

These connectors usually work on the trigger principle: 

  1. An event is issued in an application 1 (e.g. receipt of an order)
  2. This will lead to an action in an application 2 (e.g. sending an email to the customer)
  3. And another action in an application 3 (e.g. creation of a master record in ERP).

Capture from Zapier

Each software or application on these platforms offers a limited number of triggers and actions, which you can "play with" to create your own custom connectors.

These services of course have a cost, which may depend on the number of users, the number of events, the number of connectors set up.

Their shortcomings? 

They do not necessarily work in real time. 

Moreover, despite an increasingly comprehensive catalogue, not all tools are available on Zapier or Integromat. 

And for a given tool, it is important to study the possibilities offered by the integration in order to know if it meets your needs. 

Finally, it should be added that these integration platforms are not the most suitable if you need bi-directional data exchanges between two applications: you are not totally safe from certain risks, such as the creation of duplicates or the overwriting of sensitive historical data.

However, no-code integration platforms are an excellent compromise for testing the relevance of a connector before considering custom development, or for linking widely used tools by following simple processes.

Here too, configuration and testing time is required, and iteration is possible: you can link several applications within the same process, and upgrade your integration at any time...

Solution 3: the development of customised connectors

Developing a custom connector involves creating a web application from scratch, allowing the transmission of data and instructions between two platforms. This involves setting up a suitable hosting facility, and the cost of entry is relatively high.

But it is the solution that offers the most flexibility and impact: we will develop exactly what you need, instead of using an existing tool to make it best fit your request. 

It is also the most relevant solution in the long term: the technical basis allows you to iterate endlessly, without being limited by a tool, while remaining the owner of your data and controlling all the elements of the chain. Here, you are not dependent on another company which tomorrow could make choices that could put you at risk, or even cease its activity

Few companies, even software publishers, carry out this type of development themselves. The company's developers concentrate on the product roadmap, and the development of the connector can be carried out in parallel by external teams with complementary expertise, experienced in this type of exercise.

The technical requirements are less stringent here, since the customised service can use any type of communication with your platform, and it chooses its own hosting. 

On the other hand, with applications on the market, it is always necessary to monitor whether or not there are APIs, for example, and whether they are versioned and secure.

Hybrid solutions

Since each solution has its advantages and disadvantages, it is not out of the question to use them in a complementary way!

A publisher, for example, can start by setting up a connector between its product and an integrator like Zapier, so that its platform is integrated with as much of the market as possible.

He can then choose to create a dedicated connector to a solution like Hubspot, which aims to be the hub of enterprise ecosystems. This will de facto make his product connected to all Hubspot applications (which is called the Operation Hub), and this opens up a huge market.

For any connector project, moving forward in stages can be a good bet. Launching a custom development takes time: in the meantime, you can test an existing solution that partially covers your need. If the return on investment is positive, this may even allow you to restrict the scope (and therefore the cost) of the MVP developed!

Migration scripts

This solution is a special case. 

Sometimes you don't need a full-featured tool, allowing real-time synchronisation or reaction to events, but only to transmit data from one application to another, in a "one shot ". This is the case, for example, when you change software and you want to find your history in the new tool.

On the other hand, it is necessary to be able to translate and transfer all the data, dealing with special cases at the margin.

Therefore, a script (a set of lines of code that run on a one-off, non-continuous basis) may be relevant, as it is less costly to set up than a connector, and allows each case to be handled precisely. 

A script is in essence custom development. It will not have a graphical interface to map each field, but neither will it require a subscription or hosting. 

Indeed, the scripts are primarily concerned with translating data, between an export and an import procedure. This data is exported as a CSV file on most tools. The processing can therefore even be carried out within a spreadsheet.

Some software packages offer built-in migration tools. But in any case, whatever solution you choose for your data migration needs, design is central, as no case should be overlooked.

Making the most of existing tools

Many tools now offer import/export functions, native integration with other tools, automation accessible through parameterisation, etc.

Before considering major developments or the implementation of a new tool, we advise you to take the time to explore these configuration possibilities, even if it means being accompanied by a specialist agency.

Many automations can be made from an office suite, and even from a single spreadsheet, to cover the needs that have the greatest impact!

Florian Agator

Florian Agator

Web Design Engineer @theTribe

Why don't we talk?

API, nocode : quelle solution technique pour connecter deux applications ?

par | 23 Sep 2021 | Expertise Web

Comme on l’a vu dans deux précédents articles (ici et ici), développer des ponts entre logiciels ou applications est souvent nécessaire, pour gagner en fiabilité et automatiser des processus. Si se poser les bonnes questions en amont est une première étape indispensable, vient ensuite la question technique. Intégrations natives, outils nocode, connecteurs sur mesure… Faisons le point sur les solutions à votre disposition.

Concevoir un connecteur : les contraintes à prendre en compte

Pour connecter des applications entre elles, il faut d’abord pouvoir communiquer avec. 

Cette communication peut se faire de différentes façons : flux XML, API, webhooks (événements émis sur une url), etc. 

Si les moyens sont nombreux, il faut qu’au moins qu’un de ces moyens existe et permette de transmettre les données nécessaires à votre connecteur.

Si vous êtes éditeur de votre logiciel, cela peut nécessiter de concevoir votre plateforme en fonction de ce besoin (architecture micro-service plutôt que monolithe, etc.), ou de développer les briques nécessaires.

Si vous utilisez une application ou logiciel en ligne, vous pouvez avoir accès ou non aux APIs de cette application, ou aux intégrations déjà existantes : en fonction de l’outil lui-même (propose-t-il une API ou des intégrations ?), de votre abonnement, ou même du type d’hébergement choisi (sur l’infrastructure de l’éditeur ou sur votre propre serveur).

Il est fondamental de faire une première étude de votre environnement pour choisir la bonne solution technique, et/ou mettre en place les bonnes actions. 

Malheureusement, de cette phase peut ressortir une impossibilité de réaliser le connecteur. Mais il ne faut pas oublier que le web est un écosystème en constante évolution : la vérité du jour n’est pas celle du lendemain et la conception initiale ne sera pas perdue.

En se penchant sur les contraintes techniques, on peut aussi découvrir des moyens détournés, permettant d’adresser le besoin de façon temporaire en attendant des évolutions prévues. Cette étude peut également mettre en lumière l’inadéquation de l’outil avec vos besoins : si le connecteur est nécessaire pour votre activité, et que l’outil ne le permet pas, alors ce n’est pas forcément le bon outil. pour votre entreprise.

Toutefois, on vous rassure : de plus en plus d’éditeurs ont compris depuis longtemps qu’ils ont un intérêt à ouvrir leur plateforme sur l’extérieur, et les nouvelles technologies et méthodes de développement simplifient la tâche : il est loin, le temps où on ne pouvait communiquer avec des logiciels que par export de fichiers à plat pendant la nuit !

Solution 1 : Les extensions du marché

Aujourd’hui, devant la demande croissante d’interconnexion, de nombreuses plateformes proposent leur propre marketplace d’extensions (ou d’intégrations, c’est selon). Votre logiciel de comptabilité ou votre CRM propose sans doute des connecteurs “standard” avec des logiciels partenaires.

La marketplace Hubspot

Capture d’écran : la marketplace Hubspot

Certains connecteurs sont développés et maintenus par l’éditeur lui-même, d’autres par des tiers. Certaines entreprises se sont même spécialisées dans le développement de ces extensions pour certains outils.

Par exemple, Piesync, récemment rachetée par Hubspot, était spécialisée dans la synchronisation de données entre des applications et ce CRM. Des agences ont également fait des connecteurs leur centre d’expertise. 

Plutôt que d’envisager du développement sur-mesure, de telles extensions peuvent être très pertinentes si elles couvrent le besoin identifié. Elles ont pour certaines plusieurs années d’existence et donc d’améliorations, un support adapté, et une polyvalence permettant de travailler par itérations.

Sur le plan budgétaire, beaucoup de ces services fonctionnent sur un principe d’abonnement, dont le prix dépend du nombre d’utilisateurs. Si le prix d’entrée est plus faible qu’un développement sur mesure, nous vous recommandons de faire la projection sur plusieurs années, en fonction de votre croissance prévisionnelle, pour choisir la meilleure solution.

Ces extensions demandent tout de même pour la plupart un temps de configuration et de test non négligeable, qui est notamment une conséquence de leur polyvalence : il faut les adapter à son propre besoin.

Si votre logiciel CRM propose un connecteur standard avec votre logiciel de comptabilité, c’est une bonne nouvelle, mais prenez garde : vérifiez que ce connecteur couvre bien vos besoins car parfois, les fonctionnalités couvertes sont limitées ! 

Par exemple, au moment de l’écriture de cet article, le connecteur entre le CRM Hubspot et le logiciel de comptabilité Quickbooks permet de créer des factures directement dans Hubspot et de les transmettre à Quickbooks, mais il ne permet pas de visualiser dans Hubspot les factures créées dans Quickbooks… ce qui ne répond pas à tous les besoins.

Solution 2 : Les plateformes d’intégration “nocode”

Le “no-code” a le vent en poupe : on appelle “no-code” les applications ne nécessitant pas de développement au sens traditionnel du terme (écriture du code source etc.).

De nombreuses plateformes nocode permettent aujourd’hui de créer des outils en quelques jours à partir de briques plus ou moins macro, déjà codées et ne nécessitant plus que de l’assemblage et de la configuration.

Pour le développement d’un connecteur, il existe des outils no-code particulièrement intéressants, dédiés à l’intégration d’applications. 

Parmi les plus utilisés, nous pouvons citer Zapier et Integromat. Ces outils sont déjà connectés à des centaines d’applications du marché, et permettent de créer des connecteurs relativement complets.

Ces connecteurs fonctionnent le plus souvent sur le principe de déclencheur : 

  1. Un événement est émis dans une application 1 (par exemple réception d’une commande)
  2. Cela va entraîner une action dans une application 2 (par exemple envoi d’un mail au client)
  3. Et une autre action dans une application 3 (par exemple création d’une fiche dans l’ERP).

Capture du site Zapier

Chaque logiciel ou application présent sur ces plateformes propose un nombre limité de déclencheurs et d’actions, avec lesquels vous allez pouvoir “jouer” pour créer vos connecteurs personnalisés.

Ces services ont bien sûr un coût, qui peut dépendre du nombre d’utilisateurs, du nombre d’événements, du nombre de connecteurs mis en place.

Leurs défauts ? 

Ils ne fonctionnent pas forcément en temps réel. 

De plus, malgré un catalogue de plus en plus complet, tous les outils ne sont pas disponibles sur Zapier ou Integromat. 

Et pour un outil donné, il faut bien étudier les possibilités offertes par l’intégration afin de savoir si elle répond à votre besoin. 

Ajoutons enfin que ces plateformes d’intégrations ne sont pas les plus adaptées si vous avez besoin d’échanges de données bidirectionnels entre deux applications : vous n’êtes pas totalement à l’abri de certains risques, comme la création de doublons, ou l’écrasement de données historiques sensibles.

Les plateformes d’intégration no-code sont cependant un excellent compromis pour tester la pertinence d’un connecteur avant d’envisager un développement sur-mesure, ou pour lier des outils très répandus, en suivant des process simples.

Ici aussi un temps de configuration et de test est à prévoir, et l’itération est possible : vous pouvez lier plusieurs applications au sein d’un même processus, faire évoluer votre intégration à tout moment…

Solution 3 : le développement de connecteurs sur mesure

Le développement d’un connecteur sur mesure consiste à créer de toutes pièces une application web, permettant la transmission de données et d’instructions entre deux plateformes. Cela implique de mettre en place un hébergement adapté, et le coût d’entrée est relativement important.

Mais c’est la solution qui offre le plus de flexibilité et d’impact : on va développer exactement ce dont vous avez besoin, au lieu d’utiliser un outil existant pour le faire correspondre au mieux à votre demande. 

C’est aussi la solution la plus pertinente sur le long terme : la base technique permet d’itérer à l’infini, sans être limité par un outil, en restant propriétaire de ses données, et en maîtrisant tous les éléments de la chaîne. Ici, vous n’êtes pas dépendant d’une autre entreprise qui demain pourrait faire des choix vous mettant en danger, voire cesser son activité

Peu d’entreprises, même les éditeurs de logiciels, réalisent elles-mêmes ce type de développement. Les développeurs de l’entreprise se concentrent sur la feuille de route produit, et le développement du connecteur peut être réalisé en parallèle, par des équipes externes disposant d’une expertise complémentaire, rodées à ce type d’exercice.

Les pré-requis techniques sont ici moins stricts puisque le sur-mesure peut utiliser n’importe quel type de communication avec votre plateforme, et qu’il fait lui-même le choix de son hébergement. 

En revanche, auprès d’applications du marché, il faut toujours surveiller l’existence ou non d’API par exemple, et si elles sont versionnées et sécurisées.

Les solutions hybrides

Puisque chaque solution a ses avantages et ses inconvénients, il n’est pas à exclure de les utiliser en complémentarité ! 

Un éditeur, par exemple, peut commencer par mettre en place un connecteur entre son produit et un intégrateur comme Zapier, pour que sa plateforme soit intégrée à un maximum du marché.

Il peut ensuite choisir de créer un connecteur dédié vers une solution comme Hubspot, qui vise à être le centre des écosystèmes des entreprises. Cela rendra de facto son produit connecté à toutes les applications Hubspot (qu’on appelle l’Operation Hub), et cela lui ouvre donc un marché colossal.

Pour n’importe quel projet de connecteur, avancer par étapes peut être un bon pari. Lancer un développement sur-mesure prend du temps : dans l’intervalle, vous pouvez tester une solution existante couvrant partiellement votre besoin. Si le retour sur investissement est positif, cela peut même permettre de restreindre le périmètre (et donc le coût) du MVP développé !

Les scripts de migration

Cette solution est un cas un peu à part. 

Parfois, vous n’avez pas besoin d’un outil complet, permettant la synchronisation en temps réel ou la réaction à des événements, mais uniquement de transmettre des données d’une application vers une autre, en “one shot”. C’est par exemple le cas lorsque vous changez de logiciel, et que vous souhaitez retrouver votre historique dans le nouvel outil.

Il faut par contre être capable de traduire et transférer l’ensemble des données, en traitant les cas particuliers à la marge.

Dès lors, un script (ensemble de lignes de code s’exécutant de façon ponctuelle et non continue) peut être pertinent, car il est moins coûteux à mettre en place qu’un connecteur, et permet de traiter précisément chaque cas. 

Un script est par essence du développement sur-mesure. Il ne présentera pas d’interface graphique pour faire la correspondance entre chaque champ, mais ne nécessitera pas non plus d’abonnement ou d’hébergement. 

En effet, les scripts s’attachent avant tout à traduire des données, entre une procédure d’export et une d’import. Ces données sont exportées sous forme de fichier CSV sur la plupart des outils. Le traitement peut donc même être effectué au sein d’un tableur.

Certains logiciels proposent des outils de migration intégrés. Mais dans tous les cas, quelle que soit la solution choisie pour votre besoin de migration de données, la conception est centrale, car aucun cas ne doit être négligé.

Tirer le maximum des outils en place

De nombreux outils proposent aujourd’hui des fonctionnalités d’import/export, des intégrations natives avec d’autres outils, des automatisations accessibles par paramétrage, etc.

Avant d’envisager de lourds développements ou la mise en place d’un nouvel outil, nous vous conseillons de prendre le temps d’explorer ces possibilités de configuration, quitte à vous faire accompagner par une agence spécialiste.

De nombreuses automatisations sont notamment réalisables à partir d’une suite bureautique, et même d’un seul tableur, pour couvrir les besoins apportant le plus d’impact !

Florian Agator

Florian Agator

Ingénieur d'avant-projet web @theTribe

Et si on discutait ?