Designing a connector: best practices for interfacing your software

by | 16 Sep 2021 | Web Expertise

As we saw in the last article, the proliferation of digital tools and software in companies requires these tools to be linked together by developing connectors. These connectors make it possible to synchronise data between several tools, to automate tasks, and in general, to gain in productivity and performance. 

You have identified a need for a connector in your company: but where do you start? How do you go about designing that connector? We take stock of the situation in this article.

Identify and map processes

For a connector to be relevant and well designed, it is important to take the time to identify its role within a more macro process.

For example, if you want to connect your CRM software and your invoicing software, you need to take the time to list the business processes, the management rules, and the impacts for users of this new connector.

It is therefore necessary to list all the actions and users linked to this connector, the operations that can be carried out by the users, the other tools that may be impacted, etc. This is absolutely necessary in order not to miss an essential need or an important side effect.

In addition, this approach maximises the impact of the connector on users. When two tools that were not connected are connected, it is necessary to deal with the uses that are already in place and apply the appropriate change management. Involving users from the design stage is the key to a useful and used connector.

Determine the data to be transmitted

Transmitting data means first and foremost knowing the structure of the data in order to know what is being sent on the one hand and what is expected on the other.

This data, in digital tools, is usually filled in as tables, each with fields and relationships to other tables. 

Designing a connector: best practices for interfacing your software

In order to use a connector properly, it is necessary to determine which fields are important, and translate them into the format expected by the other application. We call the set of correspondences to be determined "mapping".

For example, to transmit a contact on an application, we could have several fields corresponding to phone numbers: "Phone_1" and "Phone_2".

Now let's imagine that on the other tool we have "personnal_phone_number" and "professional_phone_number" fields. 

From then on, you must explicitly indicate to the connector whether the data in the "Phone_1" field must be synchronized with "professional_phone_number", to be sure that your contact record is correctly filled in!

This example, among others, shows that it is necessary to identify upstream what data we need. Whatever its use, wanting to transmit everything is not an effective solution, as we shall see later.

Not wanting to be universal

The "classic" pitfall when setting up a connector is to want to transmit everything, in real time, with all the components of the system.

Often, 90% of the usefulness of a connector comes from the transmission of certain well-chosen data, in precisely identified cases.  

One imagines that transmitting everything saves time, since one saves thinking about what data is useful or not. But will this time saved cover the time (or budget) used to develop or configure the connector? Nothing is less certain.

In addition, a connector needs to be maintained regularly, as it links applications that may also change.

For example, when an application is acquired by a group, it is common for the application to use the group's authentication system to make the accounts unique. It is then necessary to modify the connector to take into account the change. 

Thus, the problem is clear: the more complex the connector, the more data is transmitted, and the greater the risk of bugs or compatibility problems (and therefore the costs associated with maintenance).

If you publish your own software, it may be worthwhile today to expose a well-documented and secure API and link it to integration tools such as Zapier via a connector, rather than bearing the risks associated with dedicated connectors for each target application yourself: more on this in a future article.

Develop by iterations

In entrepreneurship as in agile methodology, the MVP (meaning "Minimum Viable Product") is increasingly popular.

Derived from the Lean Startup methodology, the principle of the MVP is to separate the final product into several batches to be produced one after the other, so that the result is viable and useful at the end of each stage. The important thing here is to identify the first version, and this applies all the more to a connector.

Indeed, linking several platforms generally implies a technical set-up, notably taking care of the connection to the tools or the management of possible errors. Although this base is relatively incompressible, the quantity of data to be transmitted, its type, frequency, etc. are all parameters that can vary the complexity. The higher the complexity, the longer it will take to deliver the product, and the greater the risk that it will not function properly.

By developing in iterations, you choose to rely on a stable and proven base each time. You start with a first iteration, and you can then choose the following developments according to the feedback from the field or the evolution of your business: the impact of your connector will therefore be maximised.

In addition, a connector, unlike software or an application, does not need many features to be useful. It can be used from the very first iteration, if it has been carefully defined! So, as soon as the connector is in place, it works and starts adding value.

To conclude...

For a connector, as for any IT development, the design phase is crucial

Connecting applications to each other is above all a question of improving processes: this requires a good knowledge of them, and of the users. This is well ahead of the technical constraints, which we will come back to in a future article.

We need to approach all the systems as a product to which we would add one or more new functionalities. This product approach, centred on the user, can be the subject of external support. Very often, having a fresh look at the processes and actors involved, enables us to better identify what could be improved, beyond a possible connector.

Florian Agator

Florian Agator

Web Design Engineer @theTribe

Why don't we talk?

Web

Concevoir un connecteur : les bonnes pratiques pour interfacer vos logiciels

Temps de lecture : 4 minutes

On l’a vu dans ce dernier article, la multiplication des outils numériques et logiciels en entreprise nécessite de lier ces outils entre eux, en développant des connecteurs. Ces connecteurs permettent de synchroniser les données entre plusieurs outils, d’automatiser des tâches, et d’une manière générale, de gagner en productivité et en performance. 

Vous avez identifié un besoin de connecteur au sein de votre entreprise : mais par où commencer ? Comment s’y prendre pour concevoir ce connecteur ? On fait le point dans cet article.

Identifier et cartographier les processus

Pour qu’un connecteur soit pertinent et bien conçu, il faut avant tout prendre le temps d’identifier son rôle au sein d’un processus plus macro.

Par exemple, si vous souhaitez connecter votre logiciel CRM et votre logiciel de facturation, il faut prendre le temps de lister les processus métiers, les règles de gestion, les impacts pour les utilisateurs de ce nouveau connecteur.

Il faut donc lister toutes les actions et utilisateurs liés à ce connecteur, les opérations réalisables par les utilisateurs, les autres outils potentiellement impactés… C’est absolument nécessaire pour ne pas passer à côté d’un besoin essentiel, ou à côté d’un effet de bord important.

De plus, cette approche permet de maximiser l’impact du connecteur auprès des utilisateurs. Lorsque deux outils qui ne l’étaient pas sont reliés, il faut faire avec les usages déjà en place et appliquer la conduite du changement adaptée. Impliquer les utilisateurs dès la conception est la clé d’un connecteur utile et utilisé.

Déterminer les données à transmettre

Transmettre des données, c’est avant tout en connaître la structure pour savoir ce qui est envoyé, d’un côté, et ce qui est attendu de l’autre côté.

Ces données, dans les outils numériques, sont généralement renseignées sous forme de tables, ayant chacune des champs et des relations à d’autres tables. 

Pour bien exploiter un connecteur, il faut déterminer quels champs sont importants, et les traduire dans le format attendu par l’autre application. Nous appelons “mapping” l’ensemble de ces correspondances à déterminer.

Par exemple, pour transmettre un contact sur une application, nous pourrions avoir plusieurs champs correspondant aux numéros de téléphone : “Phone_1” et “Phone_2”.

Imaginons maintenant que sur l’autre outil, nous ayons des champs “personnal_phone_number” et “professional_phone_number”

Dès lors, il faudra indiquer explicitement au connecteur si la donnée du champ “Phone_1” doit être synchronisée avec “professional_phone_number”, pour être sûr de bien retrouver sa fiche contact correctement renseignée !

Cet exemple parmi d’autres le montre : il faut bien identifier en amont de quelle donnée nous avons besoin. Quel que soit son usage, vouloir tout transmettre n’est pas une solution efficace, comme nous le verrons plus loin.

Ne pas vouloir être universel

L’écueil “classique” lors de la mise en place d’un connecteur, est de vouloir tout transmettre, en temps réel, avec toutes les composantes du système.

Alors que bien souvent, 90% de l’utilité d’un connecteur ne provient que de la transmission de certaines données bien choisies, dans des cas précisément identifiés.  

On s’imagine que tout transmettre fait gagner du temps, puisqu’on économise la réflexion sur les données utiles ou pas. Mais est ce que ce temps gagné couvrira le temps (ou budget) utilisé à développer ou configurer le connecteur ? Rien n’est moins sûr.

De plus, un connecteur doit être maintenu régulièrement, puisqu’il fait le lien entre des applications susceptibles d’évoluer aussi.

Par exemple, lors du rachat d’une application par un groupe, il est courant de voir l’application utiliser le système d’authentification du groupe pour que les comptes soient uniques. Il est alors nécessaire de modifier le connecteur pour prendre en compte le changement. 

Ainsi, on comprend bien la problématique : plus le connecteur est complexe, plus les données transmises sont nombreuses, et plus les risques de bugs ou de problèmes de compatibilité augmentent (et donc les coûts associés à la maintenance).

Si vous éditez votre propre logiciel, il peut être intéressant aujourd’hui d’exposer une API bien documentée et sécurisée, et de la lier à des outils d’intégrations comme Zapier via un connecteur, plutôt que de supporter vous-même les risques associés aux connecteurs dédiés à chaque application cible : on en reparlera dans un prochain article.

Développer par itérations

En entrepreneuriat comme en méthodologie agile, le MVP (désignant le “Produit minimal viable”) est de plus en plus plébiscité.

Issu de la méthodologie Lean Startup, le principe du MVP est de séparer le produit final en plusieurs lots à réaliser les uns après les autres, de façon à ce que le résultat soit viable et utile à la fin de chaque étape. L’important ici est bien l’identification de la première version, et cela s’applique d’autant plus à un connecteur.

En effet, relier plusieurs plateformes implique généralement une mise en place technique, se chargeant notamment de la connexion aux outils ou de la gestion des erreurs éventuelles. Si cette base est relativement incompressible, la quantité de données à transmettre, leur type, la fréquence etc. sont autant de paramètres pouvant faire varier la complexité. Plus elle sera élevée, plus il sera long de livrer le produit, et plus celui-ci présentera des risques de fonctionnements inadaptés au besoin.

En développant par itérations, vous faites le choix de vous appuyer à chaque fois sur une base stable et éprouvée. Vous commencez par une première itération, et vous pouvez ensuite choisir les développements suivants en fonction des retours terrain ou de l’évolution de votre business : l’impact de votre connecteur sera donc maximisé.

Ajoutons qu’un connecteur, contrairement à un logiciel ou une application, n’a pas besoin de nombreuses fonctionnalités pour être utile. Il peut servir dès la première itération, si celle-ci a été définie avec soin ! Ainsi, dès que le connecteur est mis en place, il fonctionne et commence à apporter de la valeur ajoutée.

Pour conclure…

Pour un connecteur comme pour tout développement informatique, la phase de conception est capitale

Connecter des applications entre elles, c’est avant tout vouloir améliorer ses processus : cela nécessite de bien les connaître, et de bien connaître les utilisateurs. On se place ici bien en amont des contraintes techniques, sur lesquelles nous reviendrons dans un prochain article.

Il faut approcher l’ensemble des systèmes comme un produit auquel nous ajouterions une ou plusieurs nouvelles fonctionnalités. Cette approche produit, centrée sur l’utilisateur, peut faire l’objet d’un accompagnement externe. Bien souvent, avoir un regard neuf sur ses processus et ses acteurs, permet de mieux identifier ce qui pourrait être amélioré, au-delà d’un éventuel connecteur.

Florian Agator
Ingénieur d'avant-projet web @theTribe