Eco-designing your tech project: the variables to take into account and the levers to reduce your impact

by | 1 Jul 2021 | Web Expertise

Before discussing eco-design and the levers available to reduce our footprint, it is important to recall how the impacts of digital technology are distributed.

Below is a summary table from the iNum study by a committee of greenIT experts published in June 2020:

Distribution of digital impacts in France in 2020

(1) This indicator of contribution to the depletion of abiotic resources only takes into account "material" resources. Fossil energy, which is also an abiotic resource, is not taken into account. However, oil, if used to make plastic, is taken into account.

This table details the impacts (in columns) of each segment (in rows) of the digital chain. With a separation between the manufacturing part of the equipment (FAB) and use (USE). Our impact in terms of eco-design will be mainly centred around the "USE" values since we are not directly involved in the manufacturing processes when we develop web & mobile applications.

However, we have to be careful about the performance of what we develop because poorly performing applications are the main reason for the obsolescence of user terminals and servers . The latter two have continued to increase in power over the last few years but we have not necessarily benefited from these improvements on the user side, which can be explained by the ever-increasing consumption of resources by applications for a questionable gain in value...

Levers to reduce our digital impact

Throughout the design of a new service or product, it is important to remember the central principle of eco-design and greenIT, which is the principle of sobriety. You must always ask yourself the question "Do I need it? "at all stages and in all matters.

  • I want to create an app/service → Do I need it? Will it be useful? Is there a more cost effective alternative?
  • I want to use X/Y technology → Do I need it? Is it a fad? Is it the most efficient way to exploit the power available?
  • I want images in 4K quality → Is this necessary? Does the level of detail in the images justify this choice? Is it essential to have this level of detail?

Once it has been decided that there is a need to develop a new product/service that will be useful and provide value, the eco-design of the product/service can be tackled.

We will assume that this is a web application with a front end accessible via a browser and a back end that runs on a server. All in all, something rather classic in our sector.

Levers at user level

On theuser's side, we will talk about everything he has received on his terminal (PC, Mac, telephone, etc.) and the impact that this has on his terminal. We therefore focus mainly on the consumption of the terminal required to run our application. The main consumption items are the execution of the javascript, the resizing of the images to display them at the requested size, the interpretation of the DOM.

Knowing this, our levers are simple to identify: 

  • Minimise the JavaScript executed on the user side. (Do we really need reactJS for a landing page? Do we really need to include all those external JS for tracking, monitoring, js animation lib...)
  • Have images already sized to the required display size (take the time to resize them correctly)
  • Reduce DOM complexity as much as possible (try to keep the DOM clean and minimal, do not hesitate to refactor elements that become too complex)

Levers at network level

Only one thing matters here: the amount of data transferred. Our way of doing this is to transfer less data. To do this, we have to hunt for bytes. This is a fairly mature area since this quantity of data is directly linked to page display times and therefore to referencing, the quality of the site's UX, etc.

The main tracks: 

  • Enable compression on network transfers
  • Minifying your assets: JS, CSS, HTML
  • Use a standard font available by default on terminals(Windows, iOS)
  • Transmit your images at the optimal display size (as already explained at user level)
  • Compress your images: use tools like jpegoptim, jpegtran, optipng, svgo, ... to compress all your images according to their format.
  • Use the new image formats(avif, webp) with a fallback on the classic formats for browsers that do not support these formats. To do this, use the HTML tag, which allows you to define several images. The browser will select the one it is able to display to download it
  • Use a CDN that will cache your resources as close as possible to the users and thus avoid unnecessary transfers. In addition, some CDNs automatically offer to minify assets, compress images, etc.

Levers at data centre level

At this level, you can do two things. Choose a committed and responsible host. And make optimal use of resources.

When it comes to choosing a hosting provider, it is becoming increasingly easy to find committed hosting providers. All major clouds (Azure, AWS, Google) have committed to being 100% green by 2025 at the latest.

But it is not only energy that is important. Water consumption can also be taken into account. Azure is committed to being water neutral by 2030. We can see what is happening in terms of cooling, have they set up adiabatic cooling (without air conditioning), do they have a mechanism for reusing the heat extracted from the data centres (heating buildings, etc.)?

Unfortunately, there is no easy answer to make this choice. You have to compare the offers and commitments of the different hosting companies, how transparent they are, where their commitments are on the datacenter you will use... Do they have a datacenter close to the majority of your users?

Finally, you have to make optimal use of resources. Taking a server with 16 cores and 64 GB of RAM "just in case" we have big load peaks is really a bad idea. 99.99% of the time this server will do nothing and will cost us a lot of money.

It is important to choose a server of reasonable size in relation to the need. The problem of load peaks must be dealt with by an intelligent design of the architecture allowing simple replication of the service over sufficiently short times. We can also move towards systems "Serverless which leaves the optimisation of resources to the good care of the host.

Overall in eco-design there are few new tools because the essence of this field revolves around the principle of sobriety. Use less energy, fewer resources, less bandwidth, less high-tech...

Benoît

Benoît

Architect Developer @theTribe

Why don't we talk?

Eco-concevoir son projet tech : les variables à prendre en compte et les leviers pour réduire son impact

par | 1 Juil 2021 | Expertise Web

Avant d’aborder l’écoconception et les leviers disponibles pour réduire notre empreinte, il est important de rappeler comment sont répartis les impacts du numérique.

Ci-dessous un tableau récapitulatif tiré de l’étude iNum réalisée par un comité d’expert du greenIT publiée en Juin 2020 :

Répartition des impacts du numérique en France en 2020

(1) Cet indicateur de contribution à l’épuisement des ressources abiotiques ne prend en compte que les ressources « matière ». L’énergie fossile, qui est aussi une ressource abiotique, n’est pas prise en compte. En revanche, le pétrole, s’il est utilisé pour fabriquer du plastique, est par exemple pris en compte.

Dans ce tableau sont détaillés les impacts (en colonne) de chaque segment (en ligne) de la chaîne du numérique. Avec une séparation entre la partie fabrication du matériel (FAB) et utilisation (USE). Notre impact en termes d’éco-conception sera surtout centré autour des valeurs “USE” puisqu’on est pas directement engagé dans les processus de fabrication quand on développe application web & mobile.

Il faut toutefois faire attention à la performance de ce que nous développons car des applications peu performantes sont la raison principale de l’obsolescence des terminaux utilisateur et des serveurs. Ces deux derniers ont continué d’augmenter en puissance ces dernières années mais on a pas forcément profité de ces améliorations côté utilisateur, ça s’explique par la consommation de ressources toujours grandissante par les applications pour un gain de valeur discutable…

Les leviers pour réduire notre impact numérique

Tout au long de la conception d’un nouveau service ou produit, il est important de se rappeler le principe central de l’éco-conception et du greenIT, c’est le principe de sobriété. Il faut toujours se poser la question « En ai-je besoin ? » à toutes les étapes et à tous les sujets.

  • Je veux créer une app/un service → En ai-je besoin ? Sera-t-il utile ? Y a-t-il une alternative plus économe ?
  • Je veux utiliser la technologie X/Y → En ai-je besoin ? Est-ce un effet de mode ? Est-ce que c’est la façon la plus efficace d’exploiter la puissance à disposition ?
  • Je veux des images en qualité 4K → Est-ce nécessaire ? Le niveau de détail des images justifie-t-il ce choix ? Est-ce essentiel d’avoir ce niveau de détail ?

Une fois qu’on a décidé qu’on avait bien besoin de développer un nouveau produit/service qui sera utile et apportera de la valeur, on peut s’attaquer à l’éco-conception de ce dernier.

On va supposer qu’il s’agit ici d’une application web avec un front accessible par un navigateur et un back qui fonctionne sur un serveur. Somme toute quelque chose de plutôt classique dans notre secteur.

Les leviers au niveau de l’utilisateur

Du côté de l’utilisateur, on va parler de tout ce qu’il a reçu sur son terminal (PC, mac, téléphone, …) et de l’impact que ça a sur son terminal. On se centre donc principalement sur la consommation du terminal nécessaire pour faire fonctionner notre application. Les postes de consommation principaux sont l’exécution du javascript, le redimensionnement des images pour les afficher à la taille demandée, l’interprétation du DOM.

Sachant cela nos leviers sont simples à identifier : 

  • Réduire au minimum le JavaScript exécuté côté utilisateur. (A-t-on vraiment besoin de reactJS pour une landing page ? Doit-on vraiment inclure tous ces JS externes de tracking, monitoring, lib d’animation js…)
  • Avoir des images déjà dimensionnées à la taille de l’affichage demandé (Il faut prendre le temps de les re-tailler correctement)
  • Réduire au maximum la complexité du DOM (Essayer de conserver un DOM propre et minimal, ne pas hésiter à refactoriser les éléments qui deviennent trop complexes)

Les leviers au niveau du réseau

Ici une seule chose importe : la quantité de données transférée. Notre façon d’agir à ce niveau c’est donc de moins transférer de données. Pour ça il faut faire la chasse aux octets. C’est un domaine assez mature puisque cette quantité de données est directement liée aux temps d’affichage des pages et donc au référencement, à la qualité de UX du site etc…

Les pistes principales : 

  • Activer les compression sur les transfert réseau
  • Minifier vos assets : JS, CSS, HTML
  • Utiliser une police d’écriture standard disponible par défaut sur les terminaux (Windows, iOS)
  • Transmettre vos images au taille optimales d’affichage (comme déjà expliqué précédemment au niveau utilisateur)
  • Compresser vos images : utiliser des outils comme jpegoptim, jpegtran, optipng, svgo, … pour compresser toutes vos images selon leur format.
  • Utiliser les nouveaux formats d’images (avif, webp) avec un fallback sur les formats classique pour les navigateurs qui ne supportent pas ces formats. Pour ce faire, utiliser le tag HTML <picture> qui permet de définir plusieurs images. Le navigateur sélectionnera celui qu’il est en mesure d’afficher pour le télécharger
  • Utilisez un CDN qui mettra en cache vos ressources au plus près des utilisateurs et évitera donc des transferts inutiles. De plus certains CDN propose automatiquement de minifier les assets, compresser les images etc…

Les leviers au niveau des centres informatiques

À ce niveau on peut faire deux choses. Choisir un hébergeur engagé et responsable. Et faire une utilisation optimale des ressources.

Concernant le choix de l’hébergeur, il devient de plus en plus simple de trouver des hébergeurs engagés. Tous les clouds principaux (Azure, AWS, Google) se sont engagés à se fournir à 100% en énergie verte d’ici 2025 au plus tard.

Mais il n’y a pas que l’énergie qui est importante. On peut aussi prendre en compte l’eau consommée. Azure s’est engagée à avoir un bilan neutre en consommation d’eau d’ici 2030. On peut voir ce qui se passe au niveau du refroidissement, ont-ils mis en place un refroidissement adiabatique (sans climatisation), ont-ils un mécanisme de réutilisation de cette chaleur extraite des data-centers (chauffage de bâtiments, …) ?

Malheureusement, il n’y a pas de réponse toute faite pour faire ce choix. Il faut aller comparer les offres et engagements des différents hébergeurs, à quel point ils sont transparents, où en sont ces engagement sur le datacenter que vous utiliserez… Ont-ils un data center proche de la majorité de vos utilisateurs ?

Enfin, il faut faire une utilisation optimale des ressources. Prendre un serveur avec 16 cœurs et 64 Go de RAM « au cas où » on aurait des gros pics de charge est vraiment une mauvaise idée. 99,99% du temps ce serveur ne fera rien et nous coûtera cher.

Il est important de choisir un serveur de taille raisonnable par rapport au besoin. La problématique des pics de charge elle doit être traitée avec une conception intelligente de l’architecture permettant une réplication simple du service sur des temps suffisamment courts. On peut aussi s’orienter vers des système « serverless » qui laisse donc l’optimisation des ressources au bon soin de l’hébergeur.

Globalement dans éco-conception il y a peu de nouveaux outils car l’essence même de ce domaine tourne autour du principe de sobriété. Utiliser moins d’énergie, moins de ressources, moins de bande passante, moins de high-tech…

Benoît

Benoît

Architect Developer @theTribe

Et si on discutait ?